Reviews & Coupon & Compare Prices :)

Garmin nüvi 52LM 5-Inch Portable Vehicle GPS with Lifetime Maps (US) Reviews and Coupon

~ Garmin
List Price: $149.99
Price: $103.99 & FREE Shipping. Details
You Save: $46.00 (31%)
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com in certified Frustration-Free Packaging. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow?
Order within 2 hrs 11 mins, and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Is this a gift? This item ships in its own packaging. To keep the contents concealed, select This will be a gift during checkout.


Most Recent Customer Reviews

Fine

I previously had a 1490 LM and it died. This 52LM is as close as I could get to a replacement. It seems fine.

Published 6 hours ago by Ralph Pratt

lost no more

This GPS is fantastic. I have not had any issues. It recalculate immediately. No waiting time. I am no longer lost while driving.

Published 21 hours ago by Shavonne Beachum

GPS - I love it

It is very easy to use. Updating info is so simple on my PC and I really like. It works well and it does what it is supposed to do. I would recommend it.

Published 1 day ago by tagreader

Not Bad!!

Though I've only used it twice, it seems to get me where I'm going. It is compact
but works well.

Published 1 day ago by Edna Schoenberg

Love Garmin products

This was a replacement for an older Garmin. i love the screen, it is big enough for anybody to see and it is crystal clear... Read more

Published 1 day ago by Debbie Cole

QUALITY CONTROL/CUSTOMER SERVICE

Not sure about this one, as it seems everything electronic made in the last 3-5 years is crap. Read the reviews. Read more

Published 2 days ago by Michael J. Gillean

easy to navigate

easy to use, even for a novice like me who is not tech savy. bright screen and understandable speaking voice of the lady.

Published 2 days ago by margaret wilson

Very good product.

Very accurate, navigation voice is loud and clear. Updating the maps is super easy, in fact, i like the Garmin Express interface, easy to use. Read more

Published 2 days ago by Quang Nguyen

Great gps

The screen size is very comfortable and easy to see. I used it for our trip to Nevada, Arizona and Utah and no problem at all.

Published 3 days ago by Yaran S.

Toyota RAV4 GPS Substitute

Small, compact and very accurate. I have a 2013 Toyota RAV4 with a built in GPS which you cannot read in daylight because of the glare. Read more

Published 3 days ago by Paul E Barnes


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

226 of 234 people found the following review helpful

Superb GPS Out Performs Units At Twice The Price

By Peter Suslock TOP 500 REVIEWER on August 6, 2013

Style Name: with Lifetime Maps (US) Amazon Verified Purchase

Having been born with the dreaded condition NSOD (no sense of direction) a GPS is essential if I'm ever to end up getting to where I need to go. My last GPS was the Garmin 3790 which was excellent - however it froze up and died on exactly the 29th day of use which allowed me 24 hours to return it to Amazon.

As I researched a new GPS I found it more complicated than putting the specs together for a computer. Reviews are incredibly mixed on each model. All of them have plenty of pros and no shortage of cons. I decided to call the dedicated number for GPS units on Amazon. And doing so was an excellent experience and one that I highly recommend to anyone frustrated over which unit to buy. Amazon also has consultant Reps for computers, cameras, televisions and so on.

These folks don't work on commission - so there's no vested interest on their part in the recommendations the make it's a zero pressure approach and really an under estimated service - but a very valuable one. After going through the applications I was looking for i.e.: map updates, voice recognition, large screen etc - I was steered to the Garmin 52LM.

At the low price of $145 I was at first skeptical as the 3790T was $300

As I prowled through all the GPS units on Amazon the 52LM had the highest percentage of positive reviews - I was sold.
Read more ›

3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

455 of 480 people found the following review helpful

Great except bad tech support and way too many "clicks" to get around interface

By W. Chef on March 2, 2013

Style Name: Base Model (US & Canada)

Once you are on the road, this thing is awesome. The map guidance is clear, the information on the screen is relevant and timely, and it even tells you what lane you need to be angling for. This is an indispensible part of how I drive. HOWEVER it is unnecessarily painful to enter address information, change settings, etc. The interface for entering an address, for example, proceeds down through screen after screen with a single question on each screen. If you change your mind, you have to click "Back" like 17 times to get out again. This "drill down and back out" pattern is everywhere in the interface and it just sucks. Stuff like that is just bad design and it has not changed for years with Garmin so I don't think they care about it. How hard would it be to put a "back to map" button on each screen? Etc. Convenience is not the main idea here sadly. But still 4 stars for being RELATIVELY awesome! :-)
UPDATE: my Garmin recently broke. It took me 4 emails over a period of 3 weeks, plus two phone calls lasting 20 and 40 minutes each, to finally just get it arranged to ship the thing back for a repair. Garmin's support for device issues is really painful. Just so you know. So now it's 3 stars for having a good device with poor support.

20 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

63 of 67 people found the following review helpful

Nice GPS for the price

By Lawrence Tuczynski on August 7, 2013

Style Name: with Lifetime Maps (US & Canada)

After much research online and reading reviews here on Amazon I ordered the nuvi 54LM. I wanted the lifetime maps but the traffic alerts on the more expensive models don't seem to be worth it according to the reviews. I bought this to replace my old Garmin Street Pilot 2720. It still works but now takes forever to find the satellites and lock on.

I received this new 54LM yesterday and today took it out for a spin locally to addresses I knew in the area and testing the POI. It worked like a charm and found all places without a hitch. Since it's setup for fastest route by default it wants to stick to major roads. I knew some shortcuts so purposely went a different way a few times. It recalculated quickly and it was refreshing not to hear that annoyed female voice saying "recalculating". It just did it and quickly. In the next few days I'll try it on a longer trip out of the area.

My one complaint, and one that's shared by many, is that there was no manual in the box. Only a quick setup sheet of paper and a thick safety & product information booklet in about 20 languages. They could have included a user manual about the same size in that box. Finding a manual at the Garmin site online was pretty easy. If Amazon keeps the URL here it's at: [...] If Amazon takes out the URL, go to the Garmin site and go to Support. There you can plug in what you need from the dropdown menu's and you'll finally get to a PDF manual for your unit. Then just print it out. For the 54LM the manual is titles "nuvi 42/52 Series Owner's Manual" dated Dec. 2012. Even if you don't have the manual the setup screens are pretty intuitive.
Read more ›

2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

174 of 197 people found the following review helpful

Good luck getting it updated

By Raging(NotAnActual)Buddhist on April 29, 2013

Style Name: with Lifetime Maps (US)

I'm not going to repeat all the praises others have had for this. It's a great unit - until you go to check for map updates. Before you go to buy this, or any Garmin unit, check their forum and any other forum related to GPS navigation. The software Garmin recommends using to update and backup your data simply doesn't work. I thought it could be that I'm on Windows XP (there's no mention of system requirements anywhere on their website) but considering the amount of complaints about the software, I doubt it's an operating system issue. Trying to update through the website is no better. It runs you around in circles, taking you back to previous screens instead of proceeding to find any updates. I tried Firefox, Opera, Chrome and IE to rule out browser issues. No luck with any of them.

This is my second go round with Garmin. A few years back, I paid $100 or so for lifetime map updates for a Nuvi200. The ID number they gave me wasn't recognized. Calling customer support ended with them telling me that that ID number was the only one they could give me because it was already registered to my unit. I asked if I could get a refund. "No - you've been issued an ID. How do we know it isn't working and you're just trying to get your money back?" I told them to check their records for my serial number to see if any updates had been downloaded. "That's not possible, sir." End of story. They have my money, I have an outdated unit that can't be updated.

Having sworn to never buy another Garmin again, imagine the thoughts that went through my head when I received the 52LM as a gift. While I was really grateful for getting it, in the back of my mind I was already thinking about how to break it to my friend that I'd probably want to return it. Garmin didn't let me down.
Read more ›

14 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Product Description

Style: with Lifetime Maps (US)

Dependable, Easy-to-use Guidance

With its bright 5.0" display, spoken turn-by-turn directions and many innovative features, the sleek nüvi 52LM offers dependable, easy to use driving guidance.

Detailed Maps with Free Lifetime Updates

Maps of the lower 49 states, plus free lifetime¹ map updates, let you easily find addresses and millions of points of interest.

Innovative Features

Lane assist with junction view indicates the proper lane for a turn or exit with brightly colored arrows and detailed pictures. nüvi 52LM also displays speed limit and accurate arrival time.

One-stop Device Management

Use Garmin Express to keep your nüvi up-to-date. Garmin Express makes it easy to update maps and software, transfer favorites to and from devices, and install free custom vehicles and voices.

What's in the Box:

  • nüvi 52LM
  • Preloaded with City Navigator® NT North America - Lower 49 States
  • Lifetime maps¹ (indicated by “LM” after model number on the box)
  • Vehicle power cable
  • Vehicle suction cup mount
  • USB cable
  • Quick start manual

¹If you purchase a nüMaps Lifetime subscription (sold separately or bundled together with certain GPS models), you will receive up to 4 map data updates per year, when and as such updates are made available on Garmin’s website, for 1 compatible Garmin product until your product’s useful life expires or Garmin no longer receives map data from its third party supplier, whichever is shorter. A product’s “useful life” means the period during which the product (a) has sufficient memory capacity and other required technical capabilities to utilize current map data and (b) is capable of operating as intended without major repairs. A product will be deemed to be out of service and its useful life to be ended if no updates have been downloaded for such product for a period of 24 months or more. Unless otherwise stated, the updates you receive under the subscription will be updates to the same geographic map data originally included with your Garmin product when originally purchased. In some instances, your Garmin product might not have sufficient memory remaining for you to load an update to the map data, in which case you will need to either (a) select reduced map data coverage for your updates, or (b) purchase separately a microSD™/SD™ card (if and as applicable to your Garmin product) and load all or a portion of the map data coverage for your updates to the card and insert the card into the microSD/SD card slot contained in your Garmin product. If neither of the measures in (a) or (b) can be used to address your product’s lack of sufficient remaining memory, then Garmin may conclude that the “useful life” of your product has expired. Garmin may terminate your nüMaps Lifetime subscription at any time if you violate any of the terms of this agreement or your subscription. Your nüMaps Lifetime subscription may not be transferred to another Garmin product.

Technical Details

Style: with Lifetime Maps (US)
  • Touch Sensitive Screen
www.officeproductsreviews.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.
www.officeproductsreviews.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk.